Skip Navigation

Diversity Vanguard Award

To recognize those who have impacted positive change within our campus community and the region, the Office of Diversity and Inclusion presents the Diversity Vanguard Award to a university individual and a community partner. This award was created to celebrate individuals, departments and external organizations advancing initiatives which support diversity, equity, accessibility and inclusion at Indiana Tech. The award recipients must have proven themselves as a changemaker in the area of inclusion and community support, as well as demonstrated a sensitivity to the unique needs and interests of marginalized populations.

In January 2022, we will recognize two additional champions of diversity; Indiana Tech professor Michael Dunne-Steece and Fort Wayne Fire Department Captain Andrea Burton. These two individuals have greatly impacted our work to become a more equitable campus community. Their contributions have embodied the 2022 theme of our annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration, which is Advancing a Sense of Belonging. They will be will be recognized on Jan. 20, 2022, during Indiana Tech’s annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration Breakfast.

Michael is an assistant professor of human services and psychology at Indiana Tech; and also serves as the human services program chair. An advocate for inclusion in the classroom; Professor Dunne-Steece is regarded for exposing students to a variety of diverse viewpoints, as well as his work on several committees and faculty development initiatives.

Captain Burton has been steadfast in her commitment to advancing the work of diversity and inclusion. Throughout her tenure as a public servant, she has set an example and established connections within the community as a certified firefighter, inspector, emergency medical technician, and public safety educator. She also serves as the inaugural chairperson of the Fire Department’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

Indiana Tech thanks you, Professor Dunne-Steece and Captain Burton, for making our campus and our community better places.

Learn how you can attend this year’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration Breakfast here.

Past Winners

  • Dr. Susan McGrade, 2020
  • Donnevin Wolfe of Big Brothers, Big Sisters, 2020
  • Dr. Terri Shaw, 2021
  • Clifford M. Clarke, 2021